Planet Ark Annual Report 2016 Illustration Logo
Earth image

OUR MISSION

To unite people, businesses and governments through positive environmental actions. 

ABOUT PLANET ARK

Group of planet ark supporters

Planet Ark Environmental Foundation is an Australian not-for-profit organisation with a vision of a world where people live in balance with nature. Established in 1992, we are one of Australia’s leading environmental behaviour change organisations with a focus on working collaboratively and positively.

We help people, governments and businesses reduce their impact on the environment in three key areas: sustainable resource use; low carbon lifestyles; and connecting people with nature. We promote and create simple, positive environmental actions - for everyone.
Our campaigns and programs build on our positive and action-based philosophy to work with a broad range of individuals, schools, councils and workplaces.

In short, we define ourselves by what we are for rather than what we are against. This approach strikes a strong chord amongst the millions of Australians who take part in our campaigns each year.

OUR YEAR

Highlights of the year

Saved 1.2 million kg of greenhouse gas emissions

Planet Ark Paper

New Partnership encouraging the use of environmentally responsible insulated packaging Woolcool

Planet Ark Paper was a finalist in the Circular Economy Banksia Award

Long term Partnership renewed and extended with exciting new sustainability goals

Celebrated its biggest year to date with 3.6 million cartridges recycled

WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT US

"Planet Ark are doing a tremendous job in educating the whole population in how to behave in an environmentally responsible manner, be it government, business or simply a member of the public, their website is both informative and on point. Be kind to our country and be kind to our planet!!"

Roger - Facebook review

"Just a message to let you know your website is very informative and user friendly. I tried multiple other sites to figure out where I can recycle batteries and ink cartridges in the Burnside area with little success. Stumbled across your website through a google search, and it took me minutes to find the locations! Thank you for everything you do, and making it easy for me to recycle and help save the planet too."

Rachel - Recycling Near You User

“It all started with a shared vision – preserving our planet for future generations.  As a major partner of Planet Ark we are immensely proud of our collaboration efforts to promote recycling and see Australians use wisely, use less and use again."

Daniel Tartak - Chief Executive Officer, Bingo Industries

“Australian Paper is a proud partner with Planet Ark in the Make It Australian Recycled campaign. By choosing Australian made, 100% recycled copy paper, consumers can close the local recycling loop, reducing the amount of wastepaper going to local landfill.”

Craig Dunn - General Manager - Communications & Sustainability, Australian Paper

“We joined forces with Planet Ark due to our aligned passions and missions – Planet Ark’s to unite people, businesses and governments through positive environmental actions and ours though transitioning people, businesses and governments to eco-responsible packaging.  They help link us to the right people ready for change!  The credibility of this organisation also gives our organisation and its game changing insulated packaging products the credibility it deserves.  We thoroughly enjoy our partnership and collaborating with Planet Ark.”

Joanne Howarth - Chief Executive Officer, Planet Protector

OUR BUSINESS
SUPPORTERS IN 2017

2016 Partners Sponsors Endorsees

FROM THE 
CHAIRMAN + CEO

Planet Ark Chairman Michael
Planet Ark CEO

We are pleased to present the Planet Ark Annual Review for 2017.

2017 will be remembered as the year that reignited Australia’s concerns about how we deal with our waste streams. Through the community interest generated by programs such as the ABC’s War on Waste, Planet Ark experienced an extraordinary increase in demand for its education and information services such as Recycling Near You. The year also saw challenges for the recycling sector with China announcing in July  new restrictions on the quality of recycled materials they will accept from Ist Jan 2018. We view this challenge as a much needed opportunity to improve education, behaviours and infrastructure around recycling and recycled materials. Planet Ark intends to continue to play a leading role in the transformation to a Circular Economy.

To help meet the challenge of reducing recycling contamination in late 2017 we completed negotiations with the Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) to collaborate to make the Australasian Recycling Label (ARL) available to its corporate members. This agreement commenced on the 1st Jan 2018 and will result in the ARL being widely adopted with many thousands of  products featuring it,  leading to more resources being recycled and reduced contamination rates. They will join leading companies across Australia and New Zealand including Woolworths, Officeworks, Blackmores, T2 and Plantic in showing their commitment to providing an effective end of life communication to their customers.

Our Recycling Near You website continued to be the go-to service for Australia’s recycling enquiries with 3.6 million page views in 2017, 20% more than the previous year. As part of the renewal of our long standing partnership with Bingo Industries they became the Major Sponsor of Recycling Near You, supporting an exciting redevelopment of the site to offer a much improved user experience. This expansion of our partnership includes supporting their bold ambition to become the ‘greenest company on the ASX. We are proud to be working with a company that is so committed to positive environmental actions.

We continued our efforts to embed a circular economy approach into our programs and communicate the importance of supporting it to the public. The theme for 2017’s National Recycling Week was What Goes Around: Why Buying Recycled Matters which focused heavily on the importance of closing the loop and supporting products and companies committed to using resources recovered through recycling. A new initiative saw us establish an ever growing list of recycled products to make it easy for consumers to close the loop through their buying choices. We also produced a guide for households, businesses and councils which gives easy, simple steps everyone can take to include recycled products in all aspects of their life.

2017 was the biggest year yet for Cartridges for Planet Ark with close to 3.6 million printer cartridges recycled with zero waste to landfill. While a mature campaign, Cartridges for Planet Ark continues to grow with over 37 million cartridges returned since 2003. This year we focused on saying thank you to participating manufacturers, retailers, workplaces and individuals who help us to divert over 13,000 cartridges from landfill each day.

The rise of packaged home delivery food services including refrigerated goods has seen an increase in the use of Expanded Polystyrene (EPS) packaging for which very little kerbside recycling services exist. To combat this problem Planet Ark has partnered with Planet Protector to promote their sustainable packaging product, Woolcool. Using waste wool as an insulation material, Planet Protector now offers companies a renewable and biodegradable alternative to EPS packaging. We are excited to support Planet Protector in actively encouraging companies to adopt this more sustainable packaging option.

Our very own 100% recycled product, Planet Ark Paper, received a package refresh in late 2017 with the new design bringing a point of difference to the product as ‘Mindful Paper’. This was aimed at appealing to the conscious consumer who mindfully chooses what products to buy based on their impact on society and the environment. The sleek new design also aimed at breaking down outdated perceptions that recycled paper was of a lower quality than virgin paper.

It was another huge year for our flagship campaign, National Tree Day, with over 250,000 people participating in the country’s largest tree planting and nature care event. In 2017 close to 1 million native trees, shrubs, grasses and edibles were planted. As part of the public awareness campaign, Planet Ark commissioned a report titled Learning from Trees- Life lessons for Future Generations in collaboration with our ambassador, Dr Amanda Lloyd. This report is a continuation of our previous research focusing on the importance of contact with nature for our health, wellbeing and development. We would like to thank Toyota for 18 years of wonderful support for National Tree Day as well as Bunnings for over 7 years  as supporting sponsor. 

Our Make it Wood campaign aims to increase the use of responsibly sourced wood as a building material due to its ability to store carbon and the proven health benefits of ‘nature inspired design’ also called biophilic design. To coincide with 2017’s World Wood Day Planet Ark released a report Wood - Nature Inspired Design which outlines the importance of connecting buildings with the natural world and how biophilic design can bring nature indoors and provide a healthier, happier environment for all. This year also saw Tasmania adopt the first state wood encouragement policy, which requires wood to be considered as the primary building material.

Our first anniversary of partnership with Planet Ark Power saw members generate 1.4 million kWh of electricity, corresponding to a reduction of 1,200 tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions. Not only has this produced excellent environmental benefits it has also led to cumulative savings of over $200,000 off our members’ electricity bills. In December we saw the launch of the largest privately owned solar power station with smart battery storage at Llewellyn Motors a Toyota dealer based in Ipswich which received significant coverage.

We are pleased to announce a surplus of $44,349 for FY 2017, a 64% increase from the previous year due to an increase in income with excellent cost control. This increase has allowed us to continue to deliver our full range of programs and develop new activities.  

Most importantly we would like to acknowledge the fantastic support of our partners, sponsors, government bodies, businesses, schools, and environmental, industry and community groups, whose collaboration is highlighted in this report. Their support enables us to provide positive environmental actions to everyone.

OUR CAMPAIGNS

Sustainable Resource Use

Australia’s most comprehensive recycling information service

Planet Ark’s most visited website, RecyclingNearYou, continues to break records in terms of usage with an increase of over 20% on the previous year with 3.6 million page views in 2017.

The site once again helped governments promote recycling initiatives such as Return and Earn in NSW and the NT Container Deposit Scheme. Environmentalist and model Laura Wells starred in a Planet Ark video promoting the inclusion of milk and juice cartons in the schemes. RecyclingNearYou also continues to be the go-to place to search for drop off locations for the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme. E-waste remains one of our most searched materials.

ABC TV’s War on Waste, hosted by Craig Reucassel, featured Brad Gray our Head of Campaigns at the time and had a positive impact on RecyclingNearYou. Planet Ark live tweeted during the program which (trended #1 on Twitter) and during the period from May to July the numbers of page views of the site increased by 60% compared with same period in 2016 and our recycling hotline experienced an 11% increase. Working closely with the War on Waste team resulted in prominent image links from their website to Planet Ark’s National Recycling Week and the 12 DOs of Christmas websites. We experienced a 40% increase in RecyclingNearYou page visits for the two week period around the airing of the 4th episode in December.

The Recycled Product Directory developed as part of National Recycling Week this year is now accessible from the site and the new look RecyclingNearYou website, launched in March 2018. This website update is being funded by our proud partner Bingo Industries and will make it even easier to find recycling near you!

Website Logo

20% more

 website visits than the previous year

media coverage camera

5,871,030

cumulative media audience reach

battery

147,611

people reached with our most popular Facebook post at Easter for aluminium foil with

1,134

Shares

media coverage camera

$1,206,785

Media value

Laura Wells explains NSW container deposit for National Recycling Week

MobileMuster phone collection bin

Recycling Near You Facebook post

TechCollect drop off site

Brad Gray represents Planet Ark on ABC's War on Waste

Click here to view online

Do 7 of our ‘12 Do’s of Christmas’ Campaign

Paul Klymenko demonstrates how to use the new return and earn reverse vending machines

Click here to view online 

Do 7 of our ‘12 Do’s of Christmas’ Campaign

Planet Ark helped to promote Northern Territory's Container Deposit Scheme

Click here to view online

Our RecyclingNearYou
Sponsors

Providing the right recycling and waste reduction solutions for businesses

Almost half of all business waste goes to landfill despite estimates that approximately 70% can be reused or recycled. A new guide was developed that provided four ways that business owners or staff members could make a business case to recycle more, reduce waste and promote the benefits of recycling at work.

Planet Ark’s Business Recycling campaign focused on ‘Making the business case for less waste’ using loss aversion theory by emphasising that those businesses who don’t recycle or have a waste management strategy, risk negatively impacting their bottom line, their position in the market, and staff morale. Four new inspiring stories of businesses recycling and reducing waste were added to the Business Recycling website and formed part of the campaign.

Interior Designer James Treble again came on board voicing the Business Recycling radio community service announcements and news grabs. Two new videos were developed highlighting the business benefits of recycling and promoted on Planet Ark’s social media platforms.

Website Logo

59,000

searches for business recycling services

23% increase

from previous year

media coverage camera

$865,579

media value

media coverage camera

591,121

media audience reach

Website Logo

33% increase

on page visits in second half of year

Compare the pair videos

Sue & Sharon Compare Their Business Waste

Comparing Bob and Bill's Business Recycling

Recycling at work

Childcare centre starting the recycling habit early

One of our Business Recycling case studies, The Big Banana.

Galluzzo Fruiterers participating in the EPA's Bin Trim, helping small to medium businesses reduce waste and boost profits

Click here to view online

Recycling at work: On a construction site.

Recycling at work: On a construction site

Foundation
Partner

Helping The Community Minimise Waste for 21 years

Our theme for 2017, What Goes Around: Why Buying Recycled Matters, highlighted why it’s important to close the recycling loop. By providing plenty of tips, tricks and engaging resources, we helped businesses, schools and communities across the country to do just that.

In National Recycling Week’s 21st year we produced a guide for households, businesses and councils which detailed what happens to recycling beyond the bin and why buying it back matters. The guide’s content was supported by our brand new Recycled Products Directory and the inaugural Buy it Back Day!

Naturale Tissue Products returned as major sponsor as did ambassador, interior designer and media personality, James Treble. We also welcomed new ambassadors Scientia Professor Veena Sahajwalla and environmentalist and model Laura Wells.

By partnering with Cool Australia for the Schools Recycle Right Challenge (SRRC), four new school lesson plans were developed with information provided by Bingo Industries, MobileMuster and Australian Paper. Prizes for our SRRC competition were provided by Replas and eWood Gardens. A record number of workplaces participated in the Friday File Fling and our online Recycle Right Quiz proved more popular than ever with prizes generously donated by Biome Eco Stores.

National Recycling Week Friday File Fling Logo

422+

wheelie bins (240L) of high-quality office paper was recycled by more than

3,200

participants during the Friday File Fling

National Recycling Week Schools Recycle Right Logo

23,000

participating students in the Schools Recycle Right Challenge, with a record number of competition entries

up 26%

from previous year

Media Image

9.5 million

cumulative audience and

$1.8 million

(up 31%) positive media value including ABC TV News, Channel 9, WIN, Triple M, 2UE, ABC Radio, Sydney Morning Herald and The Age.

Website Logo

244,000

Facebook reach

up 9%

from previous year, our biggest reach ever

National Recycling Week Schools Recycle Right Logo

Most online Recycle Right Quiz participants ever

Website Logo

20% increase

in website traffic from previous year

‘The winning entry for the ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ Instagram competition’.

Upcycling tips on Studio 10

Layne Beachley helping students recycle right.

Purchasing Naturale toilet tissue helps to complete the recycle cycle

Some Planet Arkers at an Officeworks drop off point.

Planet Ark Deputy CEO, Rebecca Gilling talks all things recycling on Today

Layne Beachley was our fabulous ambassador.

Our wonderful ambassador, James Treble, showing recycled products from around the house

More entries in our Instagram competition.

Kindergarten students pose with their new Replas recycled bench

Click here to view Replas online

More entries in our Instagram competition.

Vegware having fun at their Friday File Fling!

Major
Sponsor

Associate
Sponsors

Bingo Industries
Cartridges 4 Planet Ark

Supporting
Sponsors

Bingo Industries
Cartridges 4 Planet Ark
Cartridges 4 Planet Ark
Cartridges 4 Planet Ark

End labelling confusion

Unclear labelling, changes in recycling systems over time and differences between collection services has led to many Australians being unsure about how to recycle or discard common packaging items. 2017 was an exciting year for the Australasian Recycling Label (ARL) with Woolworths adopting the symbol across their entire Own Brand product range. They join leading companies who had already adopted the ARL including Blackmores, Officeworks, Australia Post and T2. These companies showed true leadership by committing to create their packaging with recyclability in mind and helping consumers recycle correctly.

The ARL is designed to help dispose of packaging correctly. It shows what needs to be done with each element of a package to ensure the material has the best chance of being recycled.

A solid Mobius loop indicates an item is recyclable. The clear Mobius loop indicates that an item is recyclable if the instructions below it are followed. The bin symbol indicates an item is not recyclable and should be placed in rubbish bin. 

In late 2017 Planet Ark completed negotiations with Australian Packaging Covenant Organisation (APCO) to collaborate to allow the ARL to be adopted by its members. This agreement commenced on the 1st of January 2018 and will see the ARL becoming more widely adopted. We anticipate 2018 will bring some exciting developments for the label with more products hitting the shelves featuring ARL leading to more resources being recycled and reduced contamination. Watch this space!

T2 products with the ARL have started to appear in stores

2017 saw more and more products with the ARL appearing on shelves.

Current users

Circular economy thinking

Over 37 million cartridges recycled and counting

Cartridges 4 Planet Ark (C4PA) continued to go from strength to strength during 2017. The campaign’s 14th year was its best ever with nearly 3.6 million cartridges recycled - that’s an increase of 100,000 cartridges collected in 2016. This is thanks to the fantastic support of resource recovery partner Close the Loop and our brand partners Brother, Canon, Epson, HP, Kyocera and Konica Minolta. Since the beginning of the program in 2003 over 37 million cartridges have been collected. The campaign achieved a whopping 170% increase in media reach and a 35% increase in website visits.

The core message of the 2017 campaign was to say ‘Thank You’ to our participating manufacturers, retailers, workplaces and individuals for helping to divert 13,500 cartridges every working day from landfill. This messaging helped people feel like they were doing a great job, are part of something big, positive and worthwhile, thus encouraging them to keep doing it and others to join in. Layne Beachley, seven-time women’s world surfing champion, again fronted the promotional campaign with new videos and year round television and radio Community Service Announcements (CSA).

cartridge collection box

37 million+

cartridges collected since 2003

media coverage camera

$5,515,215

Total media reach

170% increase

from previous year’s $2,044,981

cartridge collection box

247,743

247,743 visits to the C4PA campaign website

up 35%

from previous year

Facebook Heart

3,580,222

cartridges collected in 2017 (our biggest year ever, 100,000 more than 2016)

media coverage camera

$2,575,185

Total media coverage value (incl CSA) 

an increase of 141%

from previous year's $1,068,167

The ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ Community Service Announcement had a TV play value of $447,000

‘The winning entry for the ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ Instagram competition’.

Some Planet Arkers juggling work and recycling

Layne Beachley helping students recycle right.

Layne Beachley helping students recycle right

Some Planet Arkers at an Officeworks drop off point.

One of our participating manufacturers, HP, doing a fantastic job promoting cartridge recycling

Layne Beachley was our fabulous ambassador.

One of our participating manufacturers, Canon, helping keep valuable resources in circulation

More entries in our Instagram competition.

Layne Beachley is our wonderful ambassador

Manufacturing
Partners

Logistics
Partner

Cartridges 4 Planet Ark Logistics Partner

Retail Collection
Partners

Planet Ark Paper

Entering into its second year in the market, Planet Ark 100% Australian Recycled Paper continues to encourage consumers to close the loop on paper recycling by buying back recycled paper. It is a great example of the circular economy and how consumers have the power to drive this through the simple actions of use, recycle and choose recycled paper. 

In November, Planet Ark Paper underwent a package redesign to clearly illustrate the high quality and positive environmental impact of the product, repositioning it as ‘Mindful Paper’. This connects with consumers who want to make a conscious decision when purchasing office paper and by choosing Planet Ark Paper they are being mindful about the positive impacts it has on the environment. 

Find out about the overarching campaign, Make it Australian Recycled, and our partnership with Australian Paper in the ‘Working With Business’ section.

Planet Ark Australian Paper Sold

757 tonnes

tonnes of Planet Ark Paper sold around Aus in 2017

of greenhouse gas emissions saved.

2,159 tonnes

of greenhouse gas emissions saved

landfill saved

895 tonnes

of landfill saved

landfill Co2 emissions saved

2,625 tonnes

of landfill Co2 emissions saved

Dollar direct contribution to Australia’s economy GDP

$1,148,300

direct contribution to Australia’s economy (GDP)

in waste paper recycling and manufacturing in Australia

Support for more than

2,380

regional jobs

contribution to regional economies

$568,500

contribution to regional economies (GDP).

in waste paper recycling and manufacturing in Australia

Support for more than

5,780

Australian jobs

You don’t need to compromise on quality to get the best environmental office paper available.

100% Recycled Logo

100% Recycled

Australian Made Logo

Australian Made

Carbon Neutral Logo

Carbon Neutral

Made with local FSC certified material

Made with local FSC certified material

In partnership
with

Planet Ark in Partnership with Australian Paper

Low Carbon Life

Increasing the use of sustainably sourced wood as a building material

The Make It Wood Campaign aims to increase the use of sustainably sourced wood as a building material. Timber is the only major building material that helps tackle climate change; it removes carbon from the atmosphere during the growth phase, it stores carbon and it uses much less energy in its production than other more carbon intensive materials like concrete and steel. We also know that wood is good for our health and wellbeing – it effectively helps to bring the benefits of time spent in nature into the built environment – and can reduce stress responses including lower blood pressure and heart rate.

A key part of the campaign is the adoption of Wood Encouragement Policies (WEPs) throughout Australia. A WEP generally requires responsibly sourced wood to be considered, where feasible, as the primary construction material in all new-build and refurbishment projects. There are now two Local Government Authorities and fourteen local councils that have adopted a WEP in Australia. In June 2017 Tasmania became the first state in Australia to adopt a state-wide policy, and in December 2017 the Town of East Fremantle in WA became the first town or city council in Australia to adopt a WEP.

Make It Wood quarterly newsletter

26

Presentations at seminars and conferences

Website Logo

90% increase

in followers from previous year on dedicated Make it Wood facebook page

Picture of Tasmania

Tasmania

State government has adopted Wood Encouragement Policies (WEPs).
This is our first state-wide policy in Australia

Council Image Illustration

14

local councils and

2

Local Government Authorities adopted Wood Encouragement Policies (WEP)

CLT House, Maianbar

International
House, Sydney

Design: Tzannes and Lendlease
Photography: Ben Guthrie

Marist College Bendigo, Montagne Centre, Vic

Macquarie Uni
Innovation Hub

Design: Architectus
Photography: Brett Boardman

Bold Park Aquatic Centre, City Beach WA

Bendigo
Hospital

Design: Bates Smart
Photography: Shannon McGrath and Peter Clarke

Bold Park Aquatic Centre, City Beach WA

Bunjil
Place

Design: FJMT
Photography: John Gollings

Wood – Nature Inspired Design

Completion and launch of major new report.

Click to view the Report

Nature Inspired Design - Wood in Our Homes, Work and Schools Is Good for Health and Well-being

Nature Inspired Design - Research Shows People Prefer Natural Building Materials Like Wood

Major
Sponsor

Forest and Wood Products Australia Logo

Cleaner Energy, Lower Cost

The Planet Ark Power partnership aims to increase the uptake of solar energy use in the commercial space in Australia. The idea of using the sun to provide a sustainable source of electricity, given most businesses operate as the sun shines, is one that should be an attractive option for businesses. However, while Australia is a world leader in the adoption of residential solar, we have a long way to go to lead the world for businesses and organisational installations.

This program aims to speed up the installation of solar panels on non-residential rooftops across Australia. We enable businesses, schools, councils, shopping centres, car parks and more to generate their own clean solar power and implement energy efficiency and storage technologies with the minimum financial outlay.

To date our members have generated over 1.4 million kWh of electricity and have reduced their greenhouse gas emissions by 1.2 million kg.

Case Studies

Siena Catholic College School Solar Planet Ark

Llewellyn Motors

In December 2017 Llewellyn Motors brand hosted a launch event which promoted the new technology being developed and delivered through the Planet Ark Power partnership. They unveiled a 330 kW solar system coupled with a 96 kWh battery and the first dSTATCOM inverter at the Llewellyn Motors site in Ipswich QLD. 

Siena Catholic College School Solar Planet Ark

More than 80 guests attended from over 35 businesses nationwide, the event achieved national coverage with an article in the Australian Financial Review as well as local newspapers and several online industry publications. The media release for this launch reached over 48,000 people.

Siena Catholic College School Solar Planet Ark

Gold Coast Aquatic Centre

The installation of a 300 kW solar system was finalised on the Gold Coast Aquatic Centre in December 2017. Stage 2 will commence in April 2018 and to include a 300 kWh battery system. Positive media attention was gained through this announcement in partnership with the City of Gold Coast getting air time on the Gold Coast news broadcast on Channel 9 (video below). The media release for this installation reached 125,989 with a media value over $12,000.

National Tree Day native trees, shrubs, grasses

Announcement of SA Microgrids grant - In partnership with Schneider, Planet Ark Power was awarded a

$1.95 million grant

towards a

$13.9 million dollar

microgrid project by the SA government planned to be installed on a major retailers distribution centre in the north of adelaide

National Tree Day seedlings planted since campaign began.

Planet Ark Power members generated

1.4 million kWh

of free electricity directly reducing greenhouse gas emissions by

1.2 million kg

National Tree Day seedlings planted since campaign began.

The amount of electricity generated equates to a cumulative savings of over

$200,000

off our members power bills

Planet Ark Power and Llewellyn Motors solar launch

Connecting People With Nature

Connecting people with nature since 1996

Our flagship campaign is a celebration of nature and brings a national focus on the importance of planting trees, caring for our environment and connecting with the natural environment. Since its inception in 1996, Planet Ark has worked with councils, schools, businesses, community groups, sponsors and media to raise awareness and inspire the conservation of our environment and the creation of meaningful community connections. We would like to thank our Major Sponsor for the last 18 years, Toyota Australia. Their wonderful support helps National Tree Day reach so many each year.

This year we welcomed conservationist and nature photographer, Steve Parish, as an ambassador. His beautiful photos came together to create the ‘Inspiration from Trees’ online photography exhibition which promoted a connection to nature through art.

Our research report, Learning from Trees- Life Lessons for Future Generations, was completed in collaboration with our ambassador, Dr Amanda Lloyd and sponsored by Toyota. This report is a continuation of our previous research which focuses on the importance of contact with nature for our health, wellbeing and development. Learning from Trees examines how prepared the next generation is to tackle the biggest global challenges facing humanity and includes research from Australia and overseas that demonstrates how the crucial skills identified can be developed through outdoor learning and nature time.

National Tree Day People Celebrating

256,636

people took part in the country’s largest tree planting and nature care event

National Tree Day Schools and Students

2,602

schools and

217,600

students participated

3,246

tree planting sites were held across the country

National Tree Day donated labour

770,000

volunteer hours with estimated value of

$7,700,000

in donated labour

National Tree Day native trees, shrubs, grasses

Almost 1 million

native trees, shrubs, grasses and edibles planted

National Tree Day seedlings planted since campaign began.

23 million

seedlings planted since campaign began

Adding trees: A prescription for health, happiness and fulfilment PDF

The Learning from Trees Report:
Life Lessons for Future Generations

Click to view report
Two children preparing to plant their trees.

A family enjoying their time in nature on National Tree Day

National Tree Day helpers showing off their work.

Entry in our 'Dogs love trees' Facebook competition

National Tree Day’s birthday cake. Even the gloves were edible!

Friends prepare to plant their trees on National Tree Day

National Tree Day’s birthday cake. Even the gloves were edible!

Students enjoying Schools Tree Day with ambassadors Guy Sebastian and Adam Goodes

National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Adam Goodes
Adam Goodes
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Guy Sebastian
Guy Sebastian
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Lee Kernaghan
Lee Kernaghan
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Kerri Anne Kennerly
Kerri Anne Kennerly
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Costa Georgiadis
Steve Parish
Nature Photographer
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Toyota tree people
Jamie Durie
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador James Treble
Dr Katrina Warren
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador dirtgirl
Magdalena Roze
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Costa Georgiadis
Kirrilie Smout
Psychologist
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador James Treble
Orly Faya
Artist
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Toyota tree people
Dr Amanda Lloyd
Educator
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador dirtgirl
dirtgirl
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Costa Georgiadis
Costa Georgiadis
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador Toyota tree people
Toyota tree people
National Tree Day 2016 Media Ambassador James Treble
James Treble

Our Media Ambassadors

We would like to say a big thank you for the support of all our wonderful ambassadors Jamie Durie, Adam Goodes, Kerri Anne Kennerley, Lee Kernaghan, Guy Sebastian, Magdalena Roze, James Treble from The Livingroom, Dr Katrina Warren, ABC celebrity gardener Costa Georgiadis, dirtgirl, nature photographer Steve Parish, Psychologist Kirrilie Smout, Educator Dr Amanda Lloyd and Artist Orly Faya.

National Tree Day: A Prescription for Health, Happiness and Fulfilment.

National Tree Day: A Prescription for Health, Happiness and Fulfilment.

Major
Sponsor

National Tree Day 2016 Major Sponsor

Supporting Sponsors
and Partners

Planet Ark Working With Business Logo

Working With Business

Closing the Paper Recycling Loop

Our partnership with Australian Paper continues to work hard towards increasing the purchase of high-recycled content paper (50% or more). The Make It Australian Recycled campaign tied to the partnership is aimed at encouraging Australians to take three simple steps to help close the paper recycling loop:

1.     Choose to purchase high-recycled content, Australian made office and printing paper 

2.     Recycle your office and printing paper correctly in dedicated recycling bins

3.     Reuse the paper you and other Australians recycle by buying it back again as high-recycled content, Australian made office and printing paper 

This ensures that high quality paper as a resource is kept in circulation as long as possible and out of Australian landfills. We’ve made it easy for customers to make the right choice. Simply look for Planet Ark 100% Australian Recycled Paper or alternatively the ‘Make It Australian Recycled’ logo on select products and to know you are making the right choice with the least environment impact.

Planet Ark presents Make it Australian Recycled. Focusing on recycling paper and closing the loop by buying it back as 100% Australian recycled paper.

In partnership with

Planet Ark in Partnership with Australian Paper

Working together to increase recycling rates for construction & demolition materials

Bingo Industries has been a loyal and committed Partner of Planet Ark since 2011. Our relationship began when Bingo approached Planet Ark wanting to transform from a small waste management company, into a one-stop-shop waste management and recycling company. Bingo and Planet Ark are working towards a common mission to increase diversion of waste from landfill through recycling, we are proud that ‘every Bingo skip bin goes to a recycling centre’.

Seven years later, Bingo Industries was listed on the ASX in May 2017, expanded operations in to Victoria and is now the industry leader in construction & demolition waste management. Bingo uses the latest in sorting technology to ensure its industry-leading recycling rates are achieved.

Bingo is committed to positive environmental action and to be known as the ‘greenest’ company listed on the ASX. Bingo’s partnership with Planet Ark supports this through their regular assessment of operations and collaborative input in continual improvement. 

Bingo is the Major Sponsor of the redevelopment of Recycling Near You and they continue their support of National Recycling Week.

in Partnership
with Bingo

Bingo Industries

Bingo and Planet Ark have partnered to ensure they are the environmental leaders not only in the waste industry, but as a business over all.

Encouraging businesses to move towards using more sustainable packaging alternatives

In November 2017, Planet Ark entered into Partnership with Planet Protector who are revolutionising the insulated packaging industry with Woolcool.

The Partnership, initiated in response to the significant rise in plastic waste caused by home delivery services using primarily Expanded Polystyrene (EPS) packaging, tackles the issue by encouraging businesses to embrace more environmentally responsible alternatives.

Options to recycle EPS are not widely available and rates remain low with less than 30% being recycled nationally and with much lower rates through municipal systems available to the general public.

An insulated packaging range made from waste wool, Woolcool is ideal for the delivery of products requiring temperature control. Testing has shown that Woolcool maintains pharmaceuticals and food contents at their required temperature for longer than conventional materials. Beyond its packaging potential, the wool is biodegradable, recyclable and compostable.

Planet Ark believes Woolcool offers a real alternative to traditional insulated packaging like EPS and we are actively encouraging businesses to move towards using renewable products that have a significantly less impact on the environment.

The winner of 3 WorldStar Packaging Awards in the Transit, Food and Packaging Materials and Components categories, Woolcool has received international recognition as an example of sustainable product innovation and has saved almost 1.5 million EPS boxes annually since its 2016 launch.

in Partnership
with

Planet Ark in Partnership with Australian Paper

Taking the guesswork out of your eco shopping choices

Through our Planet Ark Endorsed range of products, we help Australian shoppers choose more environmentally responsible products.

We only endorse high-quality consumer products that offer a more environmentally responsible alternative to the commonly used products on the market.

Aware Environmental LogoAware Environmental’s Orange Power and Aware cleaning products and air fresheners

Planet Ark continues our long-running endorsement of Aware Environmental’s Orange Power and Aware cleaning products and air fresheners.

All Orange Power cleaning and laundry products are formulated without using harsh chemicals and palm oil derived ingredients, rather relying on the abilities of their natural formulas.

All Aware products are made with palm oil free plant oil based surfactants, unlike most other brands which use petroleum oil derived surfactants or conflict palm oil ingredients. They are also phosphate free, meaning they are ‘garden safe’ and better for local waterways.

Since 2008, Aware Environmental has contributed almost $900,000 to Planet Ark, helping to fund programs such as National Tree Day which has planted over 11 million trees since that time.

Naturale 100% recycled tissue products

This year we continued our endorsement of Naturale 100% Recycled toilet paper and tissue products.

Planet Ark endorses Naturale for their environmental benefits. We encourage more Australians to purchase Naturale 100% recycled tissue products, because recycled tissue helps us reduce the demand for timber resources, generally uses less energy and water, reduces waste and landfill space and generates fewer greenhouse gases.

If every Australian household used Naturale Toilet Tissue in just one bathroom they would save 55,000 tonnes of office paper every year. That’s enough paper to fill 100 Olympic swimming pools!

As the Major Sponsor of National Recycling Week Naturale helped us to educate people about the importance of buying recycled products.

‘The winning entry for the ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ Instagram competition’.

We promote our endorsed products through our social media channels, like this example from Instagram

Layne Beachley helping students recycle right.

Facebook post on International Orangutan Day to promote Aware Environmental's palm oil free range

Some Planet Arkers at an Officeworks drop off point.

Facebook post promoting Naturale toilet tissue products

OUR
OPERATIONS

Thought Leadership

Throughout 2017 Planet Ark staff shared their knowledge and expertise through producing a number of research reports and guides. Staff also showed their leadership in the industry through writing or contributing to a number of articles.

1.

What's the deal with business waste? PDFClick to view report

Business Case for Less Waste

2.

Adding trees: A prescription for health, happiness and fulfilment PDFClick to view report

The Learning from Trees: Life Lessons for Future Generations

3.

National Recycling Week So you think you can recycleClick to view report

Research Guide: What goes around- Why buying recycled matters

4.

What's the deal with business waste? PDFClick to view report

Wood: Nature Inspired Design

5.

Our CEO, Paul Klymenko, posted 2 thought pieces on Linked in;

1. Businesses that don't recycle are missing out2. Be inspired- it’s in our nature

6.

Ryan, our Recycling Programs Manger, was interviewed for or wrote a number of articles

1. Making history, not waste: recycling cartridges2. Why businesses who don’t recycle are missing out

OUR PERFORMANCE

Income 2017

Planet Ark Income 2016

Expenses 2017

Planet Ark Expenses 2016

Income

Corporate sponsorships

2017

$1,507,054

2016

$1,374,799

Royalties & licence fees

2017

$599,050

2016

$539,711

Government funding

2017

$116,000

2016

$116,000

Other income

2017

$164,920

2016

$267,798

Donations, bequests,
grants & gifts

2017

$3,521

2016

$31,811

Total 

2017

$2,390,544

2016

$2,329,393

Expenses

Campaigns & salaries

2017

($1,992,803)

2016

($1,892,335)

Admin & other

2017

($100,299)

2016

($153,291)

IT

2017

(122,806)

2016

($137,994)

Rent & occupancy

2017

($126,738)

2016

($118,680)

Total 

2017

($2,342,646))

2016

($2,302,300)

Surplus/Deficit

2017

$47,899

2016

$27,093

Planet Ark OUR PEOPLE

OUR PEOPLE

These are the people who are committed to creating fun campaigns that make it easy for you to take simple, powerful and positive environmental actions.

We like to call ourselves Arkers

OUR STAFF

Debbie Agnew National Tree Day Manager

Debbie Agnew 

National Tree Day Manager
Kristie Baker Partner Relations Manager

Kristie Baker

Partner Relations Manager
Claire Bell Office Manager and IC Support

Claire Bell 

Campaigns Coordinator and Office Manager
Ian Bridges Chief Information Officer

Ian Bridges

CIO
Chief Information Officer Information Centre Support Officer

Laura Chalk

Information Centre Support Officer
Ryan Collins Recycling Programs Manager

Ryan Collins 

Recycling Programs Manager
Scott Dickson  Finance Manager and Company Secretary

Scott Dickson

Finance Manager
Rebecca Gilling HR Advisor and A/V Projects Manager

Martin Daniel

Planet Ark Power Manager
Rebecca Gilling HR Advisor and A/V Projects Manager

Rebecca Gilling

Deputy CEO
Brad Gray Head of Campaigns

Brad Gray

Head of Campaigns
Alicia Jooste Media and PR Officer

Josh Cole

Media Coordinator
Ellice Kelly IC Support

Ellice Kelly

Information Centre Support Officer
Paul Klymenko Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

Paul Klymenko

CEO
Karen McGregor  Accountant

Karen McGregor

Project Accountant
Brad Gray Head of Campaigns

Carol Warwick

Media and PR Manager
Alicia Jooste Media and PR Officer

Sam Carey

Paper Programs Manager
Diane Mann Contracts Manager

Diane Mann

Contracts Manager
Bronwen Maxwell IC Support

Bronwen Maxwell 

Information Centre Support Officer
Marty Middlebrook Information Centre Manager

Marty Middlebrook

Information Centre Manager
Sean O'Malley Research and Technical Manager

Sean O'Malley 

Research and Technical Manager
David Rowlinson Make it Wood Campaign Manager

David Rowlinson

Make it Wood Campaign Manager
Marty Middlebrook Information Centre Manager

Nell Macdonald

Special Projects Manager
Sean O'Malley Research and Technical Manager

Jamie Davis

Website Developer

OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS

MICHAEL COLEMAN Non-Executive Director and Chairman

MICHAEL COLEMAN

Non-Executive Director and Chairman

Michael Coleman is a Chartered Accountant and a professional non-executive director.  He is a member of the Macquarie Group and Bank boards and chair of their Audit Committees. He is Chairman of ASX listed Bingo Industries Limited, a past member of the Reserve Bank of Australia’s Audit Committee and past Chairman of ING Management Limited. He retired from KPMG in 2011 after a career that included 30 years as an audit partner and practice leader.

An experienced director and Chairman, a pragmatic risk manager and an audit committee and governance expert, Michael is currently Adjunct Professor, Australian School of Business, University of New South Wales; a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors’ National Board, where he Chairs the Audit Committee, he is also an AICD NSW Councillor and Chair of the AICD’s Reporting Committee; a director and Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee of Legal Aid NSW, a Governor and Chair of the Audit Committee at the Centenary Institute for of Cancer Medicine & Cell Biology and a director of Belvoir St Theatre Foundation.

PAUL KLYMENKO Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

PAUL KLYMENKO

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

Paul was appointed CEO in June 2010 and was one of the founding directors of Planet Ark in 1992. He has worked in the environmental field for the past 28 years as an environmental researcher, retailer, writer and ethical investment fund manager, all with a common theme of helping to make our society more sustainable.

Prior to working in the environmental field he spent 11 years in the financial services industry in research and advising roles. In 1986 Paul co-founded Australian Ethical Investment Ltd, which is Australia’s first socially responsible fund manager with now over $2.5 billion under management.

LYNDELL FRASER Non-Executive Director and Deputy Chairman

LYNDELL FRASER

Non-Executive Director and Deputy Chairman

Lyndell Fraser has had senior executive appointments in the education, insurance and banking sectors. She is currently engaged in doctoral studies and holds degrees in economics and business administration.

DR ANDREW JOHNSON Non-Executive Director

DR ANDREW JOHNSON

Non-Executive Director

Dr Andrew Johnson was appointed Director and CEO of the Bureau of Meteorology in September 2016.
   
For nearly a decade Andrew was a member of the CSIRO Executive Team where he led the organisation’s water, land, atmospheric, marine, biodiversity and urban research. 

In addition to Planet Ark, Andrew is a Councillor of the Queensland Futures Institute and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Australian Agricultural Company. 

Dr Johnson has a PhD from the University of Queensland and a Masters from the Kennedy School at Harvard University. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technical Sciences and Engineering and Australian Institute of Company Directors.

HOWARD PARRY-HUSBANDS Non-Executive Director

HOWARD PARRY-HUSBANDS

Non-Executive Director

After completing a geography BSc studying the science of climate change, Howard spent a few years in merchant banking and insurance before landing at market research. His research career has been focused on brands, advertising and behaviour change in the UK, New Zealand and Australia. He is the founder and CEO of Pollinate, one of Australia’s most innovative research agencies focussed on people as the most powerful agents for change. Together with Social Soup, one of the world’s leading advocacy and word of mouth agencies where Howard is a Director, Pollinate is part of The Influence Group of companies which advances influence as the future of marketing.

PHILLIP VERNON Non-Executive Director

PHILLIP VERNON

Non-Executive Director

Phil is Managing Director of Australian Ethical Investment, a pioneer of socially responsible investment in Australia with $2.7bn in funds under management. He has over 30 years experience in financial services.

In addition to Planet Ark, Phil is also a director of the Responsible Investment Association of Australia and is Chairman of Beyond Zero Emissions a climate change think tank. He has a Bachelor of Economics, a Master of Commerce and a Master of Business Administration and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

GILLIAN TURNER Non-Executive Director

GILLIAN TURNER

Non-Executive Director

Gillian is an experienced company director, chair and CEO with a strong international commercial background.  Her career has spanned the private and public sector and included financial and professional services, technology commercialisation, FMCG, health and education. She holds law degrees from Sydney and Harvard Universities, is qualified as a counselor and psychotherapist, and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Since 2005 Gillian has worked professionally as an executive coach and mentor.

DAVID BURT Non-Executive Director

DAVID BURT

Non-Executive Director

David is an experienced strategy and commercial advisor who currently leads the CSIRO New Ventures team that is helping Australian researchers commercialise their science and technology.  Prior to this David has also worked in Corporate Strategy for CSIRO, Business Development for KPMG and taught strategy, innovation and entrepreneurship at the University of Sydney. David is actively involved in several non-profit organisations, including serving on the advisory board for CEDA (Committee for Economic Development of Australia).

Contact Us...

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form :(

Suite 1802, Level 18, 323 Castlereagh Street, Haymarket, 2000

Phone Enquiries: +61 284 847 200 
Go Back to Planet Ark Website
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com is licensed by CC BY 3.0
This Annual Review was built by  
Phatworks Digital