543db40bfd60d2483a06abb6_PA%20Logo%20no%20border.svg
544f8a048b3513200d04123b_5449e3c0e819926965ade370_54472582f50742f359ad198d_Welcome_Image_devices_4REDONE_2.svgBack to Planet Ark Website545c4e721f7b1a6f439bff92_5449e3aae819926965ade36e_5447250df3712f7954f33775_Welcome_Image_svgtest1_3%20(1)_REDONE_2_LOGMOD.svg

OUR MISSION

To unite people, businesses and governments through positive environmental actions. 

5440659252e2fb242e4e63fe_planet-ark-icons-Globe.svg
545b60b62aa490ca34cf98b9_Father-watches-Son-Wormfarming-2-Portrait_WEB.jpg

ABOUT PLANET ARK

Planet Ark Environmental Foundation is an Australian not-for-profit organisation with a vision of a world where people live in balance with nature. Established in 1992, we are one of Australia’s leading environmental behaviour change organisations with a focus on working collaboratively and positively. 

We help people, governments and businesses reduce their impact on the environment in three key areas: sustainable resource use; low carbon lifestyles; and connecting people with nature. We promote and create simple, positive environmental actions - for everyone. 
Our campaigns and programs build on our positive and action-based philosophy to work with a broad range of individuals, schools, councils and workplaces.

In short, we define ourselves by what we are for rather than what we are against. This approach strikes a strong chord amongst the millions of Australians who take part in our campaigns each year.

OUR YEAR

Highlights of the year

545615ecd32fa0a317273ce4_54407eb2efdf4d1234b6acab_NTD_Trees_Planted.png

our

20-millionth

tree was planted as part of 2013 National Tree Day

5460a7383e0271fd30646418_B%27day-party-2_WEB.jpg

we celebrated Planet Ark’s

21st Birthday

544463086bd084c63e8a96af_CPA_Cartridge_image_3.jpg

we recycled our

25-millionth

printer cartridge as part of the
‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ campaign

our endorsed  ranges of Safe and icare 100% recycled toilet tissue helped keep

50,000

tonnes of reclaimed paper from landfill

54447b0c1210964f47438930_PAE_Toilet_Paper.jpg
544370216bd084c63e8a8b92_student13.svg

23,000+

school students participated in

729

registered activities for the

‘Recycle Right Challenge’

we launched the

partnership with

OUR VALUED SUPPORTERS 

54620caf295de6c507e86586_SponserLogos_WEB.jpg

FROM THE 
CEO + CHAIRMAN 

54421ec130c4cd0938929322_chairman_michael_3.png
54421ecdc33ba00e4dc79ca2_CEO_Paul_3.png

We are pleased to present the Planet Ark Annual Review for the 2013-14 financial year.

Perhaps Planet Ark’s best-known role to date is the part we’ve played in making recycling second nature in Australia through our work with councils, manufacturers, workplaces, schools and communities. National Recycling Week 2013 was an opportunity to reflect on our successes and future challenges with the launch of our Recycling Revolution Report. It provided a snapshot of the major revolutions in recycling over the past 25 years, from the introduction of kerbside recycling services in the late 1980s to more recent initiatives like the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme. Our report clearly demonstrated how far we have come as a community in our recycling behaviour.

Our popular ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ program achieved its highest monthly return of 366, 000 cartridges in a single month in the 11-year history of the program, adding to the landmark total of over 25 million cartridges we’ve diverted from landfill with program logistics partner Close the Loop and supporting manufacturers. Close the Loop continues to develop new uses for the materials that come from recycled cartridges with the latest being ‘TonerPave’(TM). This is added to road surfaces to make them longer-lasting and less carbon-intensive to make.

National Tree Day continues to connect with many Australians thanks to the 14-year support of Toyota as major sponsor. People flocked to planting sites within schools and communities across the country to help us celebrate our milestone of 20 million trees planted since the campaign began in 1996. As part of the public awareness campaign, we commissioned new research titled Missing Trees – The Inside Story of an Outdoor Nation, which explored whether Australia’s typical outdoor lifestyle is still the reality in these times of longer working hours and increased screen time.

Our Make it Wood partnership with Forest and Wood Products Australia continues to thrive through our collaborative activities in educating Australians about the environmental benefits of building with responsibly sourced timber. There are now a number of large mass timber buildings, including the award-winning Library at the Dock in Melbourne, and building industry awareness is steadily growing.

We have also teamed up with Australian Paper in a partnership called Make it Recycled, which aims to reduce the amount of waste paper going to landfill and increase the use of locally-made, high-recycled content paper. Australian Paper has made a $90 million investment to achieve the recycling of 80,000 tonnes of office paper annually – enough the cover a tennis court with a kilometre high stack!

After a number of years of profitable operation, our financial performance was below expectations with a loss of $127, 737. While we had a 3% growth in revenue, this was lower than expected. On the expenditure side, we had a 12% increase - a significant component being a one-off write down of fixed assets. We have a number of initiatives in place to reduce costs without impacting on our organisational performance. We also have a number a number of significant new programs in development and are projecting a modest surplus in the coming year. 

Finally, we would like to acknowledge the wonderful contributions and support of our partners, sponsors, government bodies, businesses, schools, environmental, industry and community groups who enable us to unite people through positive environmental actions.

5461bb68ae5a7cad37e25e82_CEO_Chair_sig.jpg

OUR CAMPAIGNS

54426a82c33ba00e4dc79f22_planet-ark-icons-Tree2.svg

CONNECTING PEOPLE
WITH NATURE

544071049b9728262e6e1d75_NTD_Header_PAAR.png

Getting Australians into nature since 1996.

National Tree Day is Australia’s largest community tree planting and most popular nature care event. We work with councils, schools and community groups to inspire people to ‘get outside and grow’ for the benefit of the environment, their community and their own wellbeing.

Since the launch of National Tree Day in 1996  more than three million participants have planted native trees, shrubs and grasses in their local community.  On Sunday 28 July 2013, we reached a significant milestone with the 20-millionth plant going in the ground.

We received generous support from our committed ambassadors Costa Georgiadis, Magdalena Roze, Jamie Durie, Ranger Stacey and Jackie French. To strengthen the link between National Tree Day and the broader health, wealth and development benefits of contact with nature, Planet Ark launched the report entitled Missing Trees: The Inside Story of an Outdoor Nation.

The research revealed that shrinking backyards, increasing screen time and longer working hours have alarming implications for Australia's perceived ‘outdoor way of life’ and the health of our children.

Toyota continued its long-term support of National Tree Day with its dealer network, helping schools and community groups to plant trees in their local communities. Schools all over the country received hands-on assistance and resources from the team members at their local Bunnings Warehouse.  

This year, Planet Ark teamed up with Cool Australia to develop lesson plans that were aligned with the Australian Curriculum to enable teachers to engage students, from pre-school to year 10, in learning about nature.   

545615ecd32fa0a317273ce4_54407eb2efdf4d1234b6acab_NTD_Trees_Planted.png

4,000+

tree planting
activities

545615eed32fa0a317273ce5_544080ce2df526b94a5e48c6_NTD_Individuals_partisipating_again.png

200,000+

individuals participating

54426a82c33ba00e4dc79f22_planet-ark-icons-Tree2.svg

our

20-millionth

tree was planted as part of 2013 National Tree Day

172

544082c42df526b94a5e48f7_NTD_toyota_PAAR.png

dealers
participated in their
local communities

54409c3befdf4d1234b6ae3f_NTD_PhotoFor_Section.jpg

The key message was

GET OUTSIDE AND
GROW

for

COUNCILS

COMMUNITY
GROUPS

SCHOOLS

185

stores assisted 

264

schools with Schools Tree Day

Our Sponsors

Major
Partner

54444daf6bd084c63e8a95e2_NTD_Sponser_toyota.jpg

Category
Partner

Supporters
of National Tree Day

544dc9dbf060613a76cf1fa2_NTD_Sponser_3_image.jpg

Promoting health and wellbeing
through a dose of everyday nature

5440b0eaea3d85b84aa9cb0d_EN_Main_image.svg

Australia has a reputation as an outdoor nation but over the last generation we have moved indoors and onto screens.

Today, kids play outside less often, adults work longer hours and backyards are shrinking. Only one in three Aussie kids today play outside every day compared to around three in four children a generation ago.  

At the same time, evidence has been mounting that shows the health and wellbeing benefits of having regular contact with nature. Kids who regularly play outside have better physical and learning outcomes, including improved academic performance, concentration, creativity and self-esteem, reduced anxiety, stress, aggression, bullying and fewer symptoms of ADHD. 

In fact, hospital patients recover more quickly when they can see trees from their beds, and workers feel happier when surrounded by pot plants.  

Everyday Nature is our newest program developed to encourage Australians to connect with nature. We do this by providing positive, helpful and practical information and resources to help people of all ages spend more time outdoors in nature. 

Having regular contact with nature

Improves

Creativity

Concentration

Self-esteem

Academic Performance

Physical + learning outcomes

Reduces

Anxiety

Symptoms of ADHD

Aggression

Bullying

Stress

5449da731d98d66a65c02f6b_Webinar_Image.png

100+

teachers participated in the Everyday Nature, ‘Growing Minds’ webinar in partnership with Cool Australia and the Field of Mars Environmental Education Centre.  

Our Supporters

544265be30c4cd09389295cc_planet-ark-icons-Otto_Bin.svg

SUSTAINABLE RESOURCE USE

Australia’s one-stop shop for household recycling information.

Last year, over 2 million enquiries were made via our RecyclingNearYou website, the country’s most comprehensive household recycling directory.  

For most Australians, using the kerbside recycling bins is second nature, but confusion surrounds more complex items such as electronic waste, food scraps, soft plastics and materials that contain hazardous waste.  

RecyclingNearYou.com.au provides a free and reliable database of public recycling information to remove this confusion.   

The site provides local drop off options for 26 different materials ranging from tyres to batteries and from computers to mobile phones.   

Last year (for the fifth year in a row!), recycling options for electronic waste topped the list of the most common search query for visitors to the RecyclingNearYou site.

The site is used as the go-to directory for many households and councils searching for solutions to ‘problem items’ that kerbside recycling does not collect.

544f8ba58b3513200d041271_544ec9551eb425d47646f05b_RNY_Comp_percent_plus_symbol_3.svg

increase in
‘Recycling Near You’
website visits
over the previous year

54431782c33ba00e4dc7a5b3_RNY_Question_recycling-48.svg

3900+

recycling enquiries via the

54530c44cae6e84c12b590bd_Hotline_Email_Image.jpg

UP 7%

from the previous year

544f868c04c21d1e0dc7f680_54432a5b97ea08b550f7ba76_RNY_laptop_2-50_new.svg

website visits during the

54432b746bd084c63e8a8a42_dos_of_christmas.jpg

campaign period

UP 34%

from the previous year

544a0bd2697ed345645ee172_Christmas_learning-51-51.svg

We reached 

2.3 million people

during our Christmas campaign
and achieved

$215,079

in media coverage

5443304497ea08b550f7ba87_RNY_council_building-52_52.svg

55 Councils

used a tailored version of our

Fact Sheet

to inspire a greener
Christmas amongst their
communities and staff

545b5e13766e48c834ce8712_1-Planet-Ark-ILL-file-54_bigger.jpg
544335ea97ea08b550f7ba92_RNY_supporters_2-58.svg
544335f60fdff0c53ed03d5f_RNY_supporters_3-59.svg

Connecting businesses with recycling
options Australia-wide

Australian businesses are generating an average of 1.7 tonnes of waste per employee, yet only about half of this is being recycled. Australia-wide, 80% of employees would like to see more recycling in their workplace, which provides a huge opportunity for reduced environmental impact and reduced business costs.  

Last year, we launched a mobile version of our popular BusinessRecycling.com.au website, making it easier for businesses to find local recycling options.   This helped more than 1.2 million business visitors find recycling solutions for more than 90 different materials via our free Business Recycling website, online directory and hotline.    

To ensure the site hosts up-to-date and reliable information, we invest time, energy and resources in checking service listings and communicating with the registered recyclers throughout the year.  

Our promotional campaign in March/April 2014 encouraged recycling champions to push for more recycling at their workplace and highlighted case studies of Australian businesses that are leading the way in workplace recycling. This campaign received strong support from local print media, radio and Planet Ark’s Facebook fans.

54433e8b0fdff0c53ed03d8c_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-58.svg

Australian businesses are generating an average of

1.7 tonnes

of waste per employee, yet only about half of this is being recycled

54434e810fdff0c53ed03ddf_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-61.svg

2,800+

email and hotline enquiries

544f860169e18e4c7d2b2720_54433e990fdff0c53ed03d8d_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-59_new_1.svg

of employees would like to see more recycling in their workplace

54434e87b0981db6504fa77b_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-62.svg

1.2 million

employees would like to see more recycling in their workplace

544f865869e18e4c7d2b272d_54433eaa97ea08b550f7bab7_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-60.svg

searches for
business recycling services

544a0d48e819926965ade4e8_Screen-Shot-2014-10-24-at-11.39.28-am.jpg

we created a new step-by-step workplace recycling toolkit

Our Sponsors

Foundation
Partner

54435ca56bd084c63e8a8b04_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-63.svg

Major
Partner

544364730fdff0c53ed03e24_Screen-Shot-2014-10-19-at-6.10.02-pm.jpg

Promotion
Partners

544de6bdf060613a76cf2190_BR_Sponser_3rd.png
54435ebd97ea08b550f7bb22_C4PA%20Logo.svg

Keeping printer cartridges out of landfill since 2003

Since its inception 11 years ago, ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark' has diverted over 25 million cartridges from landfill – enough to cover Bondi Beach a dozen times over!  

The program provides Australian households and businesses with a free, easy and environmentally-accredited way to recycle their used printer cartridges. We promote the use of collection boxes for 37,000 workplaces and 3,700 retail locations across the country.   

Our logistics and recycling partner, Close the Loop, continues to develop new uses for the materials that come from the recycled cartridges. The newest product is called ‘TonerPave’(TM) and was developed in conjunction with Downer EDI Limited. 

TonerPave is added to road surfaces to provide longer lasting paving and less carbon-intensive manufacturing. During the annual promotion in April/May, TonerPave was the subject of widespread, positive media interest, particularly on local and metro radio.

Our Community Service Announcements featured seven-time World Champion surfer Layne Beachley and attracted over $100,000 worth of airplay across TV and radio.  

Like other electronic waste, printer cartridges are a complex mix of materials, including plastics, metal, inks and toners. These materials represent a significant investment in resources that should be recovered and recycled rather than disposed of into landfill.

544462f997ea08b550f7c441_CPA_Cartridge_image_1.jpg

3.3 million+

cartridges were collected for recycling
(that’s over 9,000 every day!)

544462ffb0981db6504fb25d_CPA_Cartridge_image_2.jpg

366,000+

cartridges collected in May 2014, the highest monthly return in the history of the program

544463086bd084c63e8a96af_CPA_Cartridge_image_3.jpg

2,780+

new workplaces added to the collection program

544367a0b0981db6504fa7d4_pen19.svg

Letters were sent to every Australian council and Member of Parliament, appealing for local government promotional support.

we have recycled over

25 million cartridges

since 2003

Our Sponsors

Manufacturing
Partners

544e121f618a363c76cb2259_CPA_Printing_Logos.jpg

Logistics
Partner

54436d056bd084c63e8a8b81_Screen%20Shot%202014-10-19%20at%206.43.58%20pm.png

Retail collection
Partners

544e1339f060613a76cf2406_CPA_Sponser_3rd_2.png

Bringing a national focus to recycling and minimising waste.

National Recycling Week, held in November, is an annual opportunity for councils, workplaces, schools and individuals to focus on the many benefits of re-use and recycling. Since National Recycling Week launched in 1996, recycling has moved from being a niche ‘greenie’ activity to a mainstream community behaviour, which is undertaken by the vast majority of Australians.   

The central focus of 2013 National Recycling Week (11-17 November) was the release of the Recycling Revolution Report, which highlighted the many recent improvements to recycling systems and demonstrated how far Australian behaviour has come. 

The report provided a snapshot of the major revolutions in recycling over the past 25 years, from the introduction of council-operated kerbside recycling services in the late 1980s to more recent initiatives like the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme launched in 2012.  

As part of the campaign, Planet Ark promoted a range of activities which saw workplaces hosting Friday File Flings to increase paper recycling, students learning about the benefits of recycling through the Schools Recycle Right Challenge and councils engaging their residents though a range of activities like facility tours and workshops.

5443749db0981db6504fa81e_National-recycling-week-2011.png
54487b628285d16f5b4ca9e8_SRRC2014.jpg544370216bd084c63e8a8b92_student13.svg

23,000+

school students participated in

729

registered activities for the

‘Recycle Right Challenge’

54487b2e8285d16f5b4ca9e6_FFF2014.jpg
544377336bd084c63e8a8bf8_stacked_Tonnes.svg544377336bd084c63e8a8bf8_stacked_Tonnes.svg544377336bd084c63e8a8bf8_stacked_Tonnes.svg544377336bd084c63e8a8bf8_stacked_Tonnes.svg544377336bd084c63e8a8bf8_stacked_Tonnes.svg

5+ tonnes

of high-quality office paper was recycled by

1,200

participants in the

5443761397ea08b550f7bb72_image-499-fff-logo-stacked-final.jpg

209

public National Recycling Week events such as waste tours, composting lessons and Swap parties

$3.5 million 

in positive
media coverage

Our Sponsors

Associate
Sponsors

5443a2f2b0981db6504faa02_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-72.svg

Supporting
Sponsors

544dbf950b04ae2c71f85185_NRW_supporters_2nd.jpg
5443a6196bd084c63e8a8db7_LCL_House_With_Light-02.svg

LOW
CARBON
LIFE

5445f2a8944ecdaa4df87056_Screen%20Shot%202014-10-21%20at%204.35.21%20pm.png

Raising the awareness of wood’s carbon storage benefits to combat climate change

Responsibly sourced wood is the only major building material that is renewable, stores carbon and has a much lower manufacturing carbon footprint than materials like steel, concrete and aluminium.  

Through the ‘Make it Wood’ campaign, we used face-to-face, online and media promotions to increase awareness among the Australian public of the benefits of using responsibly sourced wood in the built environment.

During this period, Make it Wood was represented at living expos including Grand Designs Live in Sydney and the MBA Homeshow in Melbourne, where our team spoke directly to builders and renovators. The ‘Make it Wood’ Facebook page continued to serve as a powerful platform for sharing timber news, ideas and innovations.    

Throughout this period we continued to emphasise the importance of timber certification schemes such as FSC, PEFC and AFS.  We participated in the review of the revised Australian Forestry Standard, which was launched in August and we contributed to the development of Australia’s new FSC national standard. 

We supported the ‘FSC Friday’ campaign and sponsored the Timber Design Awards in September 2013 and the FSC Awards in November 2013.  

We engaged with mayors across the country to promote ‘wood encouragement policies’ for future development of public buildings. Key members of our ‘Make it Wood’ team now hold positions on a steering committee formed by Latrobe City Council in Victoria, to oversee the development of its Wood Encouragement Policy, a first for Australia. 

Responsibly sourced wood is...

1.
Renewable

2.
A much lower
manufacturing carbon footprint
than materials like steel,
concrete and aluminium

3.
Able to store carbon

5443b223b0981db6504faa90_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-74.svg

62%

of the surveyed public were aware that wood stores carbon, up from

38%

since the campaign launch in 2011

5443b22b6bd084c63e8a8e12_Planet%20Ark%20ILL%20file-75.svg

1,430+

views of the
‘Wood, the Untold Truth’
TV community service announcement achieved a media value of

$200,000+

Major Sponsor

5443bc79b0981db6504faab6_FWPA---2-Col-NEW.jpg
54443fd0b0981db6504fb08e_Partnership_icon.svg

Working With Business

544443096bd084c63e8a9517_PlanetArkMakeitRecycled_web.jpg545ceed99ad3ba6e4345131b_Australian-Paper-handshake_WEB_slim.jpg

Increasing the use of recycled office paper

Australian businesses are pretty good at recycling office paper, but they are only doing half the job. Currently office paper has a recycling rate of 68%, yet less than 18% of new paper includes any recycled content. Buying Australian-made recycled paper is an important step in closing the recycling loop.

To help businesses make the switch to recycled, Planet Ark has teamed up with Australian Paper in the ‘Make it Recycled’ partnership.

This, our newest partnership, aims to increase recycling of office paper, reduce Australian waste paper going to landfill and increase the use of locally-made, high-recycled content paper by paper buyers all over Australia, including Government at all levels. 

Australian Paper have invested over $90m in a new recycling plant in Maryvale Victoria to recycle 80,000 tonnes of paper annually – that's like a tennis court worth of paper, stacked a kilometre high!

The ‘Make it Recycled’ logo now features on Reflex recycled products and we promote the use of high-recycled content office paper though our website, newsletters and e-mails and with free trial packs of recycled paper. 

5449fcdfe819926965ade410_Reflex_Recycled.jpg

‘Make it Recycled’ branding added to the boxes and wrappers of all Reflex Recycled 50% and 100% ranges in all retailers

54600e51123e576a2d69b98b_MIR_Office_Staples_WEB_2.jpg

promotion of recycled paper sales through major retailers like Officeworks and Staples

5444446e97ea08b550f7c31f_AustralianPaper_MakeItRecycled_Banner2_02_web.jpg
5449f554697ed345645edfb9_Reflex_Primary-School_web.jpg

partnering with the ‘Cartridges 4 Planet Ark’ campaign, we provided a pallet of 100% recycled paper as a prize for schools from every state for recycling their cartridges

WINNING SCHOOL

Springbrook State School

in Partnership with

544464770fdff0c53ed0450d_mc_australian_paper_logo_800x600_5000.jpg
545b5d123117c7422e1a957e_BINGO-BINS-Cleaning-up-(White).jpg

Bingo Group has been a loyal and committed Partner of Planet Ark since 2011. Through this exclusive partnership, we're working together to increase recycling rates for construction and demolition materials.

We’re also finding ways to encourage more businesses to choose a verified and trusted recycler and continue to work closely with Bingo Group to assess the environmental impact of their operations in NSW. 

545cf03f9ad3ba6e43451332_Bingo-Compactor1-copy_WEB.jpg
545020fa8b3513200d04228a_Bingo-Hook-Truck_Web.jpg
54502106f421f24d7d0d8ae4_Bingo_man_web.jpg

ENDORSED PRODUCTS

Helping Australians choose environmentally
responsible and quality products since 1995

Choosing the right products can be confusing. The Planet Ark Endorsed logo makes that choice easier.  All of the products we endorse have been assessed to ensure they meet high environmental criteria. 

We only endorse high quality consumer products that offer a more environmentally responsible alternative to the commonly used products on the market. 

From the bathroom to the laundry to lighting and car tyres, Planet Ark helped millions of Australians choose better products to reduce their environmental impact. Every purchase of an Endorsed product makes a positive impact.

our endorsed products

544a0083697ed345645ee078_PAE_Products_web.jpg
544a0e8f840b334664ee714d_AWS---Trigger-Pack-Range.jpg

New endorsement for Aware Sensitive Shower Basin & Bath Cleaner

544a0e981d98d66a65c032ff_OP---Trigger-Pack-Range.jpg

New endorsement for Orange Power Wooden Floor Cleaner

our endorsed ranges of Safe and icare 100% recycled toilet tissue have helped divert

50,000

tonnes of paper from landfill.

54447b0c1210964f47438930_PAE_Toilet_Paper.jpg

OUR BUSINESS SUPPORTERS

5461cf3e295de6c507e85ed3_ALDI_Girls_new_logo_2.jpg

ALDI
Activ Energy

More than 60 tonnes of batteries collected since 2012!

Each year, more than 300 million household batteries are thrown away with ordinary waste and end up in our landfill, which is potentially harmful to our environment.

That’s why we’re proud to have joined forces with ALDI Stores - the first supermarket in Australia to offer a free recycling service for household batteries in every store. 

Planet Ark has verified the recycling processes used by Aldi to ensure that all common household batteries collected in ALDI stores are recycled in a safe and environmentally responsible manner.

5461eee680bbb1ac3735ad5c_WWB_officeworksguy.jpg

Officeworks
Craft Bags 

Encouraging customers to think twice about bags.

Since December 2013, Planet Ark has been working with Officeworks to encourage millions of Officeworks customers to rethink their use of single-use shopping bags.

As part of the Officeworks ‘Positive Difference’ plan, Officeworks stores throughout Australia now offer high-quality shopping bags with 50% recycled content to their customers, in exchange for a 5c and 10c contribution to Planet Ark. 

The initiative has been successful in reducing the amount of disposable bags offered by Officeworks to their customers, whilst raising essential funds to support Planet Ark’s environmental campaigns. 

54446f8530145d1b5362e8ec_OO_Team_Image.svg

OUR
OPERATIONS

A comprehensive daily dose of
environmental news from around the world.

Keeping people informed about environmental issues and success stories helps engage the community about the work we do and is an important part of creating positive environmental behaviour change.  

Planet Ark's World Environment News delivers a daily digest of global environmental news stories to the inboxes of 8,000 subscribers as well as many more on-line readers. 

Covering the latest environmental stories, pictures and videos from across the planet, World Environment News provides a comprehensive source of free environmental news.  

These emerging news stories are also shared through a dedicated Twitter feed and as well as Facebook, to increase the reach and impact of these important global environmental issues.

5448776de1d714315ea6fb3f_WEN_Computer-86.svg

3.7 million views

of the various stories.

OUR PERFORMANCE

Income 2014

5461982d6c4e7af534ee9e36_Finance_Graphs-02_MOD4.svg

Expenses 2014

54619843eda5e620048f5fb2_Finance_Graphs-03_mod4.svg

Income

Corporate sponsorships

2014

$1,673,051

2013

$1,517,693

Royalties & licence fees

2014

$407,475

2013

$464,671

Government sponsorships

2014

$205,140

2013

$97,727

Other income

2014

$161,747

2013

$291,875

Donations, bequests,
grants & gifts

2014

$56,215

2013

$59,969

Total 

2014

$2,503,627 

2013

$2,431,935

Expenses

Campaigns & salaries

2014

$2,176,071

2013

$1,958,592

Admin & other

2014

$213,420

2013

$194,490

IT

2014

$137,991

2013

$97,066

Rent & occupancy

2014

$103,882

2013

$99,639

Total 

2014

$2,631,364

2013

$2,349,787

544d91b0618a363c76cb1a86_5448db7100cc24305ec4cea1_OP_group_People_gender_3.svg

OUR
PEOPLE

These are the people who are committed to creating fun campaigns that make it easy for you to take simple, powerful and positive environmental actions.

We like to call ourselves Arkers

OUR STAFF

5448da8000cc24305ec4ce9b_Staff_Photo_2.png

Paul Klymenko 

Chief Executive Officer

Brad Gray 

Head of Campaigns

Ian Bridges

Chief Information Officer

Rebecca Gilling

HR Advisor and A/V Projects Manager

Scott Dickson

 Finance Manager and Company Secretary

Karen McGregor

 Accountant

Freya Paterson

Business Development and Marketing Manager

Sara McGregor

Public Relations and Media Manager

Jess McCallum

Media & Public Relations Coordinator

John Pashley

Database Manager and IT Support

Debbie Agnew 

National Tree Day Manager

Chris Philpot 

Make It Wood Campaign Manager

Diane Mann

Contracts Manager

Jodie Lewin

Program Advisor

Ryan Collins 

Recycling Programs Senior Coordinator

Israt Jahan 

Admin & Finance Support Officer

Amanda Cameron

Research Assistant

Marty Middlebrook

Information Centre Manager

Claire Grant 

Information Centre

Bronwen Maxwell 

Information Centre

Ellice Kelly

Information Centre

Damian Dabrowski 

Information Centre

Sean O'Malley 

Research and Technical Manager

Shaun Scallan 

Recycling Programs Manager

IN THE COMMUNITY

544e57e40b04ae2c71f86000_4-Cate-Faehrmman-MP-Wilsons-River-Landcare---Lismore-_1.jpg
544e57c2618a363c76cb25c5_National-Recycling-Week-Volunteers_1.jpg
544e57cddb3d6e2b71fd49ca_4-Community_1.jpg
544e57eb618a363c76cb25c8_ET7Q1327_1.jpg

“The Recycling Revolution Report was a fantastic example of Planet Ark’s continuous contribution to educating businesses and the community on recycling options”

Council Representitive, Qld

“Tree Day is a way to engage a broader audience in conservation activities for at least one day a year, but many connect with other activities as a result."  

Volunteer, WA

“Anything we can do to improve our environment and engage our children in caring for the environment is fantastic.  National Tree Day allows this contribution to be formalised and regular.  The children LOVE it”

National Tree Day Coordinator, VIC

“Thank you for such an educational site with an abundance of activities and ideas.”

Primary School Teacher, NSW

OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS

544daa3d0b04ae2c71f8508b_BM1-Michael-O-BW_1.png

MICHAEL COLEMAN

Non-Executive Director & Chairman

Michael Coleman is a Company Director and consultant. He is Non-executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee of Macquarie Group Limited; member of the Audit Committee of the Reserve Bank of Australia; Chairman of the Federal Government’s Financial Reporting Council; Chair of the Reporting Committee of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD); Divisional Councillor for the AICD’s NSW Division;  Adjunct Professor at the Australian School of Business, UNSW; Chair of the Advisory Board of the Centre for Accounting and Assurance Services Research, UNSW;  Director/Treasurer of Osteoporosis Australia and Director of the Belvoir Street Theatre Foundation.  

Michael holds Bachelor and Master’s Degrees in Commerce from UNSW. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

544daa6af060613a76cf1e82_BM1-Paul-Klymenko-BW_1.png

PAUL KLYMENKO

Chief Executive Officer

Paul was appointed CEO in June 2010 and was one of the founding directors of Planet Ark in 1992. He has worked in the environmental field for the past 23 years as an environmental researcher, retailer, writer and ethical investment fund manager. Prior to working in the environmental field he spent 11 years in the financial services industry in research and advising roles.

544daa84db3d6e2b71fd426d_BM1-Lyndell-Fraser-BW_1.png

LYNDELL FRASER

Non-Executive Director & Deputy Chairman

Lyndell joined the Navitas Group in April 2009, an Australian based global education company; and has overall responsibility for the operations of Navitas’ Professional & English Programs Division. Lyndell has held senior appointments in the financial services industry in banking and general insurance with major Australian institutions.

544daa910b04ae2c71f85090_BM1-Andrew-Johnson-BW_1.png

DR ANDREW JOHNSON

Non-Executive Director

Andrew Johnson is a CSIRO Group Executive. As a member of the CSIRO Executive team he leads the organisation’s water, land, atmospheric, marine, biodiversity and urban systems research. He is also a Non Executive Director of CSIRO Chile. Dr Johnson is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. He is also a member of the Governing Council of the International Institute of Applied Systems Analysis in Vienna and the Australian Government's Independent Expert Committee on Coal Seam Gas and Large Scale Coal Mining. 

544daaa1618a363c76cb1b2a_BM1-Phil-Vernon-BW_1.png

PHILLIP VERNON

Non-Executive Director

Phillip is Managing Director of Australian Ethical Investment and has over 30 years experience in financial services covering funds management, capital markets and superannuation. In previous roles he has been a senior executive of Perpetual Limited and served on the board and as Chairman of the Australian Securitisation Forum. He is currently also a Director and Treasurer of the Responsible Investment Association of Australia and a member of the Advisory Board of the Association for Sustainable & Responsible Investment in Asia.

544dad34618a363c76cb1b3f_Parry_Husbands__Howard_2.png

HOWARD PARRY-HUSBANDS

Non-Executive Director

After completing a geography BSc studying the science of climate change, Howard spent a few years in merchant banking and insurance before landing at market research. His research career has been focused on brands, advertising and behaviour change in the UK, New Zealand and Australia. He is the founder and CEO of Pollinate, one of Australia’s most innovative research agencies focussed on people as the most powerful agents for change. Together with Social Soup, one of the world’s leading advocacy and word of mouth agencies where Howard is a Director, Pollinate is part of The Influence Group of companies which advances influence as the future of marketing.

544daab4618a363c76cb1b2f_BM1-Gillian-Turner-BW_1.png

GILLIAN TURNER

Non-Executive Director

Gillian is an experienced company director, chair and CEO with a strong international commercial background.  Her career has spanned the private and public sector and included financial & professional services, technology commercialisation, FMCG, health and education. She holds law degrees from Sydney and Harvard Universities, is qualified as a counselor and psychotherapist, and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Since 2005 Gillian has worked professionally as an executive coach & mentor.

Contact Us...

Street Address

Level 3, 15-17 Young St, SYDNEY NSW 2000 

Postal Address
PO BOX R988, Royal Exchange, NSW 1225

Phone Enquiries: 02 8484 7200 

Thank you! Your submission has been received!

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form :(

Go Back to Planet Ark Website
Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com is licensed by CC BY 3.0
This Annual Review was built by  
Phatworks Digital